Circular No. 6785 August 18, 1971

Reassignment of Check Routing Symbols for All Banks in New Miami Zone

To the Member Banks and Nonmember Clearing Banks of the Second Federal Reserve District:

The Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta has established an office in Miami, Florida, for clearing checks and distributing currency and coin to serve the following 13 counties in South Florida: Broward, Charlotte, Collier, Dade, Glades, Hendry, Indian River, Lee, Martin, Monroe, Okeechobee, Palm Beach, and St. Lucie. In preparation for the opening of the office later this year, the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta has informed us that new check routing symbols are being assigned to certain Florida banks to facilitate the collection of checks through the Miami Office.

On September 1, banks in the 13 South Florida counties will begin using checks bearing the new routing symbols 0660 and 0670. The new routing symbol 0660 has been assigned to approximately 30 banks in the Miami metropolitan area and the new routing symbol 0670 has been assigned to the other 150 banks to be served by the Miami Office. The present routing symbol for these banks is 0631 and, of course, checks with this symbol will continue to circulate until existing supplies are exhausted. Checks bearing the new 0660 and 0670 routing symbols may be commingled with items bearing the symbol 0631.

Until the Miami Office is prepared to accept cash items for collection, all checks drawn on these banks will continue to be forwarded by us to the Federal Reserve Branch in Jacksonville.

> ALFRED HAYES, President.